Variable Speed Reciprocating Saw

Model: #RJ186V

4.7 | 68 Reviews
Whether you are ripping wood or tearing through metal, the Ryobi® Variable Speed Reciprocating Saw is very powerful. This handy tool works at a variety of speeds and fits in awkward spaces making it great for any job.
Ryobi three year warranty logo

All RYOBI Outdoor Products purchased on or after 1.1.09 are covered by a 3-year warranty. All RYOBI Portable Power Tools and Bench/Stationary tools purchased on or after 1.1.11 are covered by a 3-year warranty.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

  • Input: 120V AC, 10 Amp
  • Blade Speed: 0 - 3,000 SPM (no load speed)
  • Stroke Length: 1-1/8"
  • Cord Length: 6 ft.
  • Net Weight: 7.3 lbs

Includes

  • RJ185V reciprocating saw
  • Woodcutting blade
  • Operator’s Manual

Reviews

Variable Speed Reciprocating Saw
Variable Speed Reciprocating Saw is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 68.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful and useful I have cut stumps up I have cut tree limbs I have took apart pallets taking down studs very powerful and useful
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Blade-less As I normal am involved with semi professional work I purchase high end tools. In this case, based on price, I decided to replace my 30 year old Sawzall with a Ryobi. When I tried to use it for the first time I was unable to load a blade into the saw. Neither the Ryobi tech support nor Home Depot could suggest what to do to insert a blade. I returned it to the store and purchased another Milwaukee.
Date published: 2020-05-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Seized up I bought this about 4 years ago, so I believe it's out of warranty. I took good care of it and used it enough to consume 5 blades. I kept it in a dry garage in a cabinet and this last weekend, I went to use it for a simple job and it made a squealing sound as if it had too much internal friction. I released the trigger and I never applied the saw to my job. When I tried pulling the trigger again, it was seized up and started smoking. I guess it goes in the trash.
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the money I really haven't used it a lot yet but what I've done so far seems to indicate that it is a good saw. Over the years I have owned several Ryobi saws and they all have more than paid for themselves. My previous Ryobi saws were the older blue ones and I wore two of them out over the years. This new green one is a bit less streamlined and a bit more bulky. The only thing I don't like about this new one is the two finger trigger. What's up with that? When you are wearing gloves it makes the trigger difficult to release and hold on to the saw at the same time. I also miss some of the features that the older Ryobi saws had like the ability to lock the saw in the on position, the variable speed setting some of the models had. I also miss being able to lock the blade in with an allen wrench. Remember those? I don't use battery powered tools at all.
Date published: 2019-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy thing for budget price! I bought it when I was making a work bench to cut wood blocks precisely. It did the job fast and accurate and best part was I could take it to anywhere unlike other fixed saws. It alsi hekoed me cut some old water pipes and repair the problematic part. I 100% recommend it. Take care of it and it will take care of your projects :)
Date published: 2020-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value I bought this saw for a project where I need to do some demolition work. It was more than powerful enough for my task. Easy to change out the blades and the vibration absorbing handle made it a pleasure to use. Only draw back was the shortness of the shoe, but then when considering the cost it was a minor miss. Great overall value for a corded tool.
Date published: 2020-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw I'm glad I purchase this saw I need a saw to cut up a stump from a lilac bush I took down.I have a cordless Ryobi saw but that would not work on this so I went to the Home Depot picked it up for $64.99 got the job done with no problem and used it to trim back some other lilac bushes that have just grown to big.
Date published: 2019-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool The recently purchased this saw to cut up a bunch of tree roots in the yard. While a battery operated one would be more convenient but who needs another battery and charger on their work bench. This traditional corded saw is great for around the house. The quality seems very good and I have no complaints.
Date published: 2020-06-11
  • y_2020, m_9, d_23, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_204601267, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobi-tools

Support