6 Amp Electric 8" Pole Saw

Model: #RY43160A

4.4 | 62 Reviews
Trim high branches without ever leaving the ground. This RYOBI Electric Pole Chainsaw features an adjustable shaft for an overall length of 9 ft., providing ample reach to otherwise inaccessible areas. Designed with convenience in mind, it includes an instant-starting, 6 amp electric motor and automatic oiler system. This in-line motor ensures precise pruning with an angled head that provides ultimate control. The 8 in. chainsaw blade easily cuts through branches up to 6 in. thick, enabling you to trim even larger areas of growth. All backed by a 3-year warranty, this RYOBI pole saw is ready to make quick work of all your hard-to-reach pruning jobs.

Features

Ryobi three year warranty logo

All RYOBI Outdoor Products purchased on or after 1.1.09 are covered by a 3-year warranty. All RYOBI Portable Power Tools and Bench/Stationary tools purchased on or after 1.1.11 are covered by a 3-year warranty.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

  • Motor: Electric
  • Bar & Chain: 8 in.
  • Cut Capacity: 6 in. cutting diameter
  • Chain Tensioner: Tool-Less
  • Length: 9.5 Adjustable Length
  • Oiler: Automatic Lubricator
  • Weight: 8.5 lbs.

Includes

  • Electric Pole Saw
  • Blade Cover
  • Tool Tensioning Hex Key
  • Bar & Chain Lubricant
  • Operator's Manual

Reviews

6 Amp Electric 8" Pole Saw
6 Amp Electric 8" Pole Saw is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 62.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little saw I didn't expect very much out of this product but I was plesently surprised. I've used it to cut birch, tamarack, popular, and pine limbs and it worked like a charm. Definitely worth the purchase. At full extension the anaemic chain still has enough bite to cut effortlessly. I can't compare this to any other pole saw as this was my first experience with them but definitely a good saw for the home gamer. The build quality looks to be good and as long as you take care of your tool this one should last a long time. Just wish I could get a spare chain at the local store.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Assembly issues with Pole Saw Santa bought me a Ryobi 6 amp elec. pole saw from Home Depot. It was the last 1(open box) on the shelf as I had to have it. However, it was partially assembled incorrectly as NOW I have read many reviews about the handles not lining up correctly if the small push in button is not lined up. Once the handle is assembled it will not come apart .... UNLESS tech support has a method to fix I guess I am stuck. I owned a BUNCH of Ryobi products since 1995 but I am not to happy with this one.
Date published: 2019-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job done. My first cut took two passes, one from each side because it was from a 18 ft ladder reaching 7 feet topping the trunk of a seriously wind leaning pine tree. Like 60 degree lean 17 inch diameter trunk where I cut. I didn't want to climb with my chainsaw because it wasn't a fun one to climb and I wanted to cut it just enough that it didn't fall until that yank from my diesel. It sure worked. Later I used it for what it was designed for, pruning widow makers from my elms as well as some of those crazy limbs the tree is better off without. I've bought a few Ryobi tools now and if your a DIY homeowner type you get your best bang for the buck with them.
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great features for small cuts. Bad ch.... This is easy to handle and the adjustable length is great. Its a little heavier at higher heights, but has a strong motor. I like having it in addition to my ryobi collection. I was very dissapointed when I realized that my chain would pop off every 2-3 cuts. The chain mechanism is terrible. It's often hard to line up as it's become worn from the popping chain. I did troubleshoot and went through 3 $15 replacement chains. I believe the screw that tightens mine is loosening sporadically causing a loose chain that pops. My neighbor has given good reports, so I may have just gotten a bad one. I wish I'd have realized it earlier since I know from my Dad that tools should be around much longer than this one. I've resorted to my manual cutter for now and I'm waiting on improvements to the model.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needs improvements This saw is an inexpensive item and acts like one. There are two main problems. 1) The chain tensioning mechanism simply does not work. It's impossible to maintain chain tension during use. I'm not sure why, but either the tensioning screw tends to unwind or the pin that it moves doesn't stay in the hole on the bar. When setting up the saw for use, the pin barely enters the hole. Having a longer pin would perhaps solve the tensioning issue. 2) The sprocket retaining ring (external circlip) is too thin to secure it to its axle After losing two circlips which resulted in throwing the chain off the bar, I ended up using a very stout e-clip. The designers should have tried using this saw before putting it on the market. It would be nice to recommend this product, but with these flaws I can't.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from How many times does the chain come off before I do Bought it 2 hours ago; chain came off on 4th cut out the box. Chain unseated 7, maybe 8, times. Carefully replaced each time. Adjusted tightening screw as directed. Two, maybe 3 cuts and I'm reseating chain. Piece of JUNK!
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap - you get what you pay for I've been through three of these now... they've improved the design, but it's still basically junk. As other reviewers mention, you need to constantly tighten the chain (every few cuts) between (a) it stretching as it warms up, and (b) the adjusting screw having no retaining mechanism so it can loosen up. I've had two units now fail with the motor seizing up and stopping, so this appears to be another design flaw. I'm going to move on to try a different product at this point.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Electric Ryobi Electric Extention Saw I bought this saw to reach tall tree limbs that I couldn't reach by hand. I have some tall trees around my house and the branches seem to hang out all over the place. This saw works great for the small limbs and the saw extends a little farther if need be. It's best to read the instruction book thoroughly and constantly check the oil level since the reservoir is limited in size. The recommended 25' cord legnth is a limitation but overall I am very happy with this saw.
Date published: 2016-04-29
  • y_2020, m_10, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_203159669, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobioutdoortools

Support