40V HP Brushless 21" CrossCut Self-Propelled Mower with (2) 40V 6Ah Batteries and Charger

Model: #RY401150

4.6 | 94 Reviews
  • 40V HP Technology Delivers delivers GAS-LIKE POWER™
  • Cross Cut Multi Blade System for Superior Cutting Performance
  • Smart Trek Adaptive Variable Speed Self-Propelled
See The Entire 40V HP Lineup!

More Power. Longer Runtime. Longer Motor Life.

Features

Ryobi five year warranty
*Tool Warranty

All RYOBI 40V tools are covered by a 5-year limited warranty.

Ryobi three year battery warranty logo
* Battery Warranty

All RYOBI batteries are covered by a 3-year warranty.

The RYOBI 40V System features over 50 products, providing versatility to get the job done.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

Dimensions

Cutting Height
1.5" - 4"
Deck Size
21"
Weight
75 lbs.

Details

Battery
(2) 40V 6.0 Ah Batteries
Mowing Function
Mulching, Bagging, or Side Discharge
Recommended Yard Size
Up to 3/4 Acre
Deck Height Adjustments
7-Position Single Point
Estimated Runtime
Up to 70 mins.

Warranty

Warranty
5 year tool warranty and 3 year battery warranty

Includes

Reviews

40V HP Brushless 21" CrossCut Self-Propelled Mower with (2) 40V 6Ah Batteries and Charger
40V HP 21" Brushless CrossCut Self-Propelled Mower is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 89.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Mower at a Decent Price Spring has arrived. I needed to upgrade to a larger 3 in 1 mower as my previous mower was lacking features and somewhat under powered. Going fully electric had not crossed my mind until I can across this mower. I was impressed with size and power it offered along with the fact that it included two batteries rather than just one. This was excellent news for me since I have just over a half an acre to mow. It's an impressive machine capable of cutting even thick, wet grass with out much of a struggle. I may never go back to gas powered lawn equipment after this. Definitely recommended if anyone is looking for power and longevity.
Date published: 2021-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cut, long cut time, great machine I received the mower and was immediately blown away by the quality of the build. The first thing I noticed was that it did come with 2 batteries and they were ready to run right out of the box. The only downside is that you have to manually switch which battery is active but all that takes is a simple flick of a switch. I was able to cut my front yard which was overgrown, and half of my overgrown back yard on one battery. It took the overgrown grass and weeds like a champ. I decided against the mulching bag and this thing chopped up the grass so fine. It really did a good job, excited to see what Ryobi can continue to do for the future!
Date published: 2021-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great mower, but could use improvements Bought this mower last week and have used 2x. Mows much better than Toro gas mower ever did!!! Do not understand why "lights" stay on. Waste of battery and bulb lifespan. If to indicate mower is on, then put red light on top. Needs to be heavier in front! Put batteries front to back rather than side by side, or better yet make front wheel drive. Rear wheel drive is a pain. Started not to even buy because it was rear wheel dr. Battery life is questionable for 3/4 acre. Have 1/4 acre lot with over half in house, DW, sheds ,etc and is taking all of 1 battery and little of the second. Still would strongly recommend this mower!
Date published: 2021-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ryobi HP for the Win!! I upgraded to this mower from my old Smart Trek. Wow, what an upgrade. The paddle self propelled system makes turns a breeze in comparison to my old unit. Two batteries and a rapid charger gave me more than enough juice to get through the mow. The bagger was able to hold more as well giving me longer between empties. I wish the battery slots were both active rather than using a key, but I realized after a few uses this didnt really matter. Also worth mentioning this unit looks sweet and is certainly an eye catcher. Ill be checking out the other HP 40-Volt products for sure!
Date published: 2021-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cutting Is Fun Again Take the dread out of cutting grass. This new Ryobi mower is a pleasure. With the self-propelled feature, it was like strolling behind the mower. I was impressed with the ergonomics of the control handle. My old gas mower was like stretching your hands wide open just to grip the power and propelle control bars. And the speed control at your fingertips make this a breeze to operate. Of course the old days of pulling the cord until your arm hurts, are over. Push button start and runs quietly. I do believe my favorite feature, beside lithium power, is the single handle, all wheel adjusting bar. I can cut my yard and only use one battery. Convenient fold away handles allow you to store neatly away in the garage. So overall I give it a Five Star rating.
Date published: 2021-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Mower! I received this mower recently and I am blown away at everything that RYOBI has included on this mower. This is truly a premium mower that removes any need for a "strong gas mower" as this mower is even better than gas! I would absolutely recommend this mower to anyone in the market for a premium lawn mower. Get rid of that gas can once and for all and get with the convenience and power of cordless! The dual blade system is also something I have never seen before on a cordless mower and the runtime is INSANE! I got like an hour and a half on the included batteries.
Date published: 2021-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mower, plenty of power and easy to use! I got this mower about a week ago and just got to test it out. Right off the bat I can tell it’s super sturdy and comparable to my previous mower that was gas powered. Speaking of gas mowers, I love the push button start on this one and I’m glad I don’t have to deal with the pull start anymore. Even though it’s a pretty big mower, it folds so storage has been really easy. Doesn’t take up much space in our garage at all. Doesn’t hurt that it looks nice too! My favorite feature is the Smart Trek technology that allows the mower to adapt to my walking speed. This makes mowing smooth and easy!
Date published: 2021-02-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from False claims of power and area covered It is amazing how many of the five star reviews are provided by those who received the product free as part of a promotion. I would probably like mine better, too, if I hadn't shelled out my hard-earned money to get it. I've had it for a week, and so far am entirely dissatisfied with it. The mower claims to have "gas-like power." I was excited to get an electric mower that claimed to be able to mow with similar power as my old, noisy gas engine. However, the only thing gas-like about it is that it uses the power to spin a blade. The mower is *weak*. Even on my first mow of the spring over a largely dry, thin, and dormant front yard it struggled to get through any patches that were even moderately thick or healthy. (And none of it was very tall.) The marketing material says that it is recommended for lawns up to 3/4 of an acre. While I was skeptical of that claim, I figured that since my house is built on a lot that's a little less than half an acre, and the house, landscaping, and driveway take up a big chunk of that, the mower should *certainly* be able to get through the part of the lot that actually has grass on it before it ran out of juice on the two batteries. I would estimate that the actual area covered by grass is a quarter of an acre or a little less - split about 35-40% front lawn and 60-65% back lawn. Unfortunately, though I charged both batteries fully prior to starting, my first battery went dead about halfway through the front lawn, and the second one was dead within a minute or two of finishing the front lawn. It literally only got a few feet into that back yard before the second battery was completely dead. Not only did it not get the full 3/4 of an acre promised, the two batteries weren't even able to get through what I would approximate at less than an eighth of an acre. I charged the batteries up again overnight, and I'll go give it another shot to see if maybe the batteries just needed to be fully topped up again - but based on the paltry performance the first time through, I absolutely would not recommend this mower to my friends - or anybody else for that matter.
Date published: 2021-03-22
  • y_2021, m_5, d_6, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_84
  • loc_en_US, sid_314428494, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobioutdoortools

Support