40V HP 8" Brushless Auger with 4.0 Ah Battery and Charger

Model: #RY40710

4.8 | 9 Reviews
  • 30% More Torque Than An Average Gas Unit
  • Ideal for Light Cultivation, Preparing Soil, and Digging for Fences and Landscaping
  • Powerful and Versatile for Light Cultivation, Digging for Fences or Soil Preparation
See The Entire 40V HP Lineup!

More Power. Longer Runtime. Longer Motor Life.

Features

Ryobi five year warranty
*Tool Warranty

All RYOBI 40V tools are covered by a 5-year limited warranty.

Ryobi three year battery warranty logo
* Battery Warranty

All RYOBI batteries are covered by a 3-year warranty.

The RYOBI 40V System features over 50 products, providing versatility to get the job done.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

Dimensions

Weight
40.2 lbs.
Warranty
5 year tool warranty and 3 year battery warranty
Battery
40V 4.0 Ah Battery
Auger Bit Diameter
8"
Operation
Forward and Reverse

Includes

Reviews

40V HP 8" Brushless Auger with 4.0 Ah Battery and Charger
40V HP 8" Brushless Auger with 4.0 Ah Battery and Charger is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 7.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised with the Power! I needed to set 10 posts and never used any sort of gas or electric auger before. Alway did it the old fashion way, post hole digger. The area I live has hard pan about 6” to 10” down so I was indecisive what to buy, gas or electric. Fortunately the local Home Depot on had this little gem. I had my doubts about a battery operated auger and ensured if it didn’t perform as indicated on the packaging I could return it without any issues. Well, it’s a keeper. I cut the 2’ deep holes with minimal effort and on a single charge. Now, the ground is damp and I’m pretty certain I’d have difficulty during the hot dry summer when the soil is like concrete but it would be difficult with any type auger. I’m very impressed and would recommend to my friends.
Date published: 2021-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like All Ryobi Tools It Works Great Like All Ryobi Tools It Works Great The Ryobi Auger Works great just what I needed for my raised gardens and flowers it saved my back a lot aches. It fits in with all my other Ryobi 18 volt tools. The ONE HP brushless motor is very strong and the 4AH battery lasts.This came with the new stye battery and charger The battery has a charge test button great to check before using . This 6’’ Auger is 50% lighter than the average gas unit. It has forward and reverse plus the anti-kickback system is a great safety feature. Quick connect allows easy bit change. This makes my yard/garden work a lot easier from digging holes for bird houses posts/compost tilling to tilling the raised gardens soil packed from the winter snows and it is backed by a 3 year warranty,a win for all
Date published: 2020-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great as an Ice Auger I bought this intending to use it as an ice auger in the winter and earth auger in the summer. Because the unit runs in reverse, I was able to use my Jiffy auger blade on the ice. Had no problem drilling through 1 foot thick ice. After 5 holes the 4 amp hour battery still had 50% power. This is a heavy duty unit that I would highly recommend.
Date published: 2021-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 40V HP 8" Brushless Auger with 4.0 Ah Battery The RYOBI 40-VOLT HP LITHIUM-ION CORDLESS EARTH AUGER WITH 8 IN. BIT AND 4.0 AH BATTERY AND CHARGER INCLUDED is an impressive little beast. It arrived well packaged and in good time. Let me start with the only negative I could find, the charger plug where it plugs in, the prongs were a little bit crooked in the plastic from the manufacturer. I had to rebend the blades to be able to plug in the charger. Assembly was easy and we took it out for a test run drilling into wet heavy clay ground. It preformed flawlessly, we drilled a 30 inch hole in less than a minute. Try doing that with a standard two handled post hole digger. No way could you do that by hand so fast. It loaded down a little bit, but did not bog down in the wet sticky clay. Time will tell how it handles when we get into rocks and roots. Good job guys, my son was impressed. One more good tool to put to use.
Date published: 2020-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Plenty of Power! Bought this for both yard work (post holes and tree planting) and ice fishing. LOTS of power for any hole digging! It is really a 5 star tool but the blades were so dull and coated with paint that I had to remove them, sharpen, and strip the heavy paint. The point of the auger also needed to be sharpened, especially for use in ice drilling. Definitely recommended.
Date published: 2021-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 1 Hole down atleast 17 more to go I bought this yesterday after I debated doing 18 holes manually or getting the $300 auger and my contractor neighbor said, that's a lot of holes it might be worth getting the tool. So after getting it and charging it yesterday I got to try it out today. The package only includes their standard charger which takes ~3 hours to charge the 4Ah battery from empty, Nothing in the instructions or package tells you that so I didn't get it use it right away I figured it out when I saw that the charger outputs 1.5 amps. They will send you a rapid charger for free after you register the product and that will charge the pack in less than an hour. (Why not include the rapid charger in the package if you're going to give it away for free anyway? I could have started using it the day I got it and have more holes dug for my fence posts.) Anyway I got to use it today and it does save you the manual labor of digging. The 8" bore it comes with is good for 4x4 or 6x6 wooden posts, but is a bit overkill for my steel posts. I wish they had a 6" bore version. Just means more concrete for me to fill the hole. I set it on low speed and the kickback stopping mechanism didn't really work well as the unit almost ripped out of my hands when it hit a large rock (4"-6" size rock). It digs out smaller rocks without too much issue. I have to also get my technique down. You really need to hold that thing tight if you don't want it to wrestle away from you and if you hold some of the weight of the machine, when it hits a rock there is less kickback. Maybe the anti-kickback mechanism is when you are in high speed. I love the fact there is a reverse (which you don't get with gas augers). I still need to clear out big rocks by hand and scoop out some of the lose dirt from the hole by hand as well, but it beats using a post hole digger. Now I can dig holes to transplant my blueberry bushes and plant some new trees as well next year. The other benefit is that I can use this battery in a future ryobi lawn mower purchase after my current corded electric mower from a different brand dies. The magnet in the casing of that motor is breaking apart and jamming the rotating stator.
Date published: 2021-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy set up Just arrived today and I love the power and ease of operation
Date published: 2021-03-25
  • y_2021, m_4, d_6, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_7
  • loc_en_US, sid_314127852, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobioutdoortools

Support