40V 24" Hedge Trimmer WITH 2AH BATTERY & CHARGER

Model: #RY40620

4.9 | 709 Reviews
  • Dual-action blades & up to 1" cut capacity for superior cutting performance
  • Rotating handle for convenience and trimming at all angles
  • HEDGESWEEP™ debris remover for easy clean up

Delivers GAS-LIKE POWER™

Features

Ryobi five year warranty
*Tool Warranty

All RYOBI 40V tools are covered by a 5-year limited warranty.

Ryobi three year battery warranty logo
* Battery Warranty

All RYOBI batteries are covered by a 3-year warranty.

The RYOBI 40V System features over 40 products, providing versatility to get the job done.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

Dimensions

Battery
40V 2.0 Ah Battery
Cut Capacity
Up to 1"
Bar Length
24"
Cut Speed
3200 Strokes Per Minute
Weight
8.1 lbs.

Includes

Reviews

40V 24" Hedge Trimmer WITH 2AH BATTERY & CHARGER
40V 24" Hedge Trimmer WITH 2AH BATTERY & CHARGER is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 708.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very impressed This hedge trimmer really exceeded my expectations. I really didn’t believe that it would cut through 1 inch branches, but it really does. You have to go slow, but it will cut through them. I have both gas and electric trimmers that only have 1/2 inch capacity. Didn’t really time how long the battery last, but it went long enough that I was tired of trimming hedges. Hedge sweep is nice as long as you’re not cutting a lot off. Only minor complaint is that the cutting teeth don’t go to the end of the bar which makes it a little tough to get close to walls. Trimmer is fairly light weight considering how powerful it is. Would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2020-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect hedge trimmer We picked this up last month and it's been great, no more doing our hedges with hand clippers. The battery lasts and the clippers are fast and strong they don't bog down. I can clip all the hedges on one charge it's great!
Date published: 2020-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hedge Trimmer I'm glad I decided to go with the 40 volt hedge trimmer. It claims to be as powerful as a gas trimmer, and it did not let me down. This cuts through the hedges as if they were butter. This is better than any of the electric trimmers that I have used as it is more powerful, no cord to worry about, and easy to handle. As with a gas trimmer, it is good to have extra fuel (Battery) when you have a lot of hedges to trim. The included battery gets a lot done on a charge, but I did need to wait for a recharge to get finished the twenty bushes I had to trim. All things considered, this is the best hedge trimmer I have ever used.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My First Ryobi Wanted to upgrade to newer hedge trimmer that was cordless. Did a lot of research and decided to take a look at this item at Home Depot. There was a rep on site that provided a lot of answers to our questions and we were able to pick up item to test for weight. Nice features: 40V for power, cordless, battery lasted about 2 hours before recharging, rotating handle was a really nice thing to have to allow for smoother cutting. I also liked the security feature that you have to have two hands on to operate and once you release the trimmer shuts down and the biggest nicety is NO Extension Cord needed...Overall, happy with purchase so far..
Date published: 2020-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My first battery powered hedge trimmer Chose this one since it will cut up to 1" thick. And it will. Maybe not tree branches; but, large burdock and forsythia with ease. Works very well. Took it clear around the farm (20-30 minutes) on one battery without getting worn out. Cuts as well as my electric one. Would like to have a trigger lock. Not a fan of the current 2 switch control. Would rather have a button near the trigger operated by one hand. Be careful if handing to someone else. Actually just be careful. It likes to turn on when you pick it up if you aren't careful. Wish the plastic storage guard would snap in place. I gave 5 stars for the way it performs; but took away a star for safety.
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way better than I could have imagined! After using electric tools forever, I decided to try battery powered. Couldn't be happier! Without a doubt, this is the best trimmer on the market. I was skeptical about battery and if it had enough power or not, but I couldn't believe the amount of power it has! I trimmed the entire front yard full of bushes up to 1" in diameter and it never stopped. Absolutely NO loss of power at any point. The machine is absolutely perfectly balanced. I spoke to my neighbor and he as all the Ryobi 40v tools and he swears by them. I can see why now! I will definitely by purchasing more tools!
Date published: 2019-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight, powerful and great battery life Awesome tool. Below are some pros and cons: Pros: very powerful, lightweight, long battery life, quiet, great ergonomic design (rotating handle), edge sweeper works fantastic at sweeping debris away Cons: edge sweeper slides off during use (Although it works great I ended up removing it at times to avoid it falling off),the safety handle takes some getting used to (I’d lose a little grip strength during extended use as I get fatigue from a long day of work). The pros far outweigh the cons. This tools is awesome and I am extremely happy with my purchase. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2019-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Bought this hedge trimmer approximately one month ago, For the last three years I have been using a gas powered hedge trimmer constantly beating myself up with it, constantly cleaning the carburetor, changing plugs annually,mixing gas, replacing fuel the lines every year ! Oh and not to forget the number of blisters between my fingers from trying to pull start that gas powered machine #@! ¥! ! And now with my Ryobi battery powered hedge trimmer I actually enjoy trimming my bushes and hedges, lightweight and easy to maneuver, And fantastic cut. I could just kick myself in the butt for not doing this years ago.
Date published: 2019-10-19
  • y_2020, m_11, d_29, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_35, tr_673
  • loc_en_US, sid_306706871, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobioutdoortools

Support