40V 20" BRUSHLESS Self-Propelled Mower with 6.0AH Battery & Charger

Model: #RY401120-Y

4.7 | 922 Reviews
  • Brushless Motor delivers GAS-LIKE POWER™
  • Self-Propelled technology with rear wheel drive for user convenience
  • 7-position single point height adjustment

Self-Propelled Rear Wheel Drive

Features

Ryobi five year warranty
*Tool Warranty

All RYOBI 40V tools are covered by a 5-year limited warranty.

Ryobi three year battery warranty logo
* Battery Warranty

All RYOBI batteries are covered by a 3-year warranty.

The RYOBI 40V System features over 50 products, providing versatility to get the job done.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

Dimensions

Deck Size
20"
Cutting Height
1.5" - 4"
Weight
60 lbs.

Details

Battery
40V 6.0 ah Battery
Deck Height Adjustments
7-Position Single Point
Recommended Yard Size
Up to 1/2 Acre
Mower Function
Mulching, Bagging, and Side Discharge (Accessory Sold Separately)

Warranty

Warranty
5 year tool warranty and 3 year battery warranty

Includes

Reviews

40V 20" BRUSHLESS Self-Propelled Mower with 6.0AH Battery & Charger
40V 20" BRUSHLESS Self-Propelled Mower with 6.0AH Battery & Charger is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 911.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond Expectations I’ve had this for three months. I had a Honda 21” cut that I had for 9 years. Poor girl was getting tried. Did a lot of reading and it pointed it to this mower. I have the Ryobi cordless weed eater edger blower etc. the thing I love is it will cut the lawn twice on on charge. I bag the back yard. Cause it’s where the grandchildren play. It does a great job and I mulch the front yard and it does as good as the Honda. I got the self propelled but the mower is so light I rarely use it. Love the clean inside mower deck no grass accumulates and I store it in the garage. The Honda was stored in outside shed. It’s so quiet I look forward to mowing now
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality right out of the box Purchased this morning and used this afternoon. Very well made, lightweight and works great. Easy out of the box assembly, battery fully charged in a few hours and took on my lawn with no problem. The self-propelled feature is fine to get going up hills but the model is so light its not really needed. No gas, oil, or plugs to fool with is a big plus. We will see how well it maintains over the winter months.
Date published: 2020-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mower for smaller lots! We own slightly more than 1/8th of an acre of very hilly land. Backyard is flat, but front yard has 7’ of elevation change from curb to front door. The self propelled feature gets me right up the hill without hesitation, is variable for a comfortable walking speed for me, my wife and kids even. It’s super quiet compared to a gas mower. I could have a conversation at a slightly elevated volume while it was running without issue. Didn’t wake up a sleeping infant while mowing the backyard with her on the porch not 30’ away. The self mulching feature is great, no bagging and no piles of clippings all over the lawn. Folds down into a small footprint for the cramped garage or shed people. Overall a great product, typical Ryobi durability and value!
Date published: 2020-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Two Dead on Arrival products I bought this product last weekend and the first one was running for 30 seconds before going dead on a fully charged battery. I had it replaced and the second unit was dead on arrival. Scrutinizing the design, all covers made out of plastic, makes me doubt the overall quality ambition for the product. The substantial reduction in moving parts for electric versus combustion engine-based lawnmowers makes it easier, not harder to make a well functioning and durable product. But something has gone wrong in the design and production of this product. Most annoying is that there is no way to connect with chat support to address what you think is a small problem.
Date published: 2021-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good mower My wife bought me this mower because she hated the gas fumes from my last mower. I really hated to give up that mower but this one is good. It does the job almost as good, there is no gas smell, and it is very quiet and powerful. I am impressed with how much grass I find in the bag after mowing the lawn, it catches much more than it seems. It has a nice fold up feature so takes up less space in the garage. The one issue I noticed was the handle seems a bit heavy, I have to consciously make sure the front wheels are on the ground. It's an easy adjustment. I like it and expect to have this lawn mower for many years to come.
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quiet I purchased the 40 volt self propelled lawnmower on June 3, 2020. Had a few problems in the beginning. Battery defective and mulch device did not fit correctly. I returned both to Home Depot and they promptly replaced. I am happy to say I have been using the lawnmower ever since and I am very pleased. No more gasoline or oil to contend with, just charge and go, and it is very quiet. My neighbors are also impressed with the product, so you may have future customers. This is my 4th Ryobi product. I also have the snow blower, weedwacker and hedge trimmer. My next purchase will be the leaf blower. I am very impressed with the ease of using each product.
Date published: 2020-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pushed it hard for first use. Bought this plus the string trimmer and chainsaw in the 40v platform. Had not mowed my Summer Florida yard in a month and decided to test it out. Used the bagger (weeds had seeds I did not want in my yard). Used the 6 AH battery for about 1 1/2 hours with a couple of breaks (for me not the mower) Found it interesting that the speed would pick up instead of slow down when the grass/weeds got thicker. I read that some thought the self propelled was not needed due to light weight. I found it helpful in the St. Augustine grass and overgrown weeds. In the slow setting the blade would speed up and the propulsion slow down enough to not bog down. Impressed that this did as well or better than the gas mower I had used in the past.
Date published: 2020-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Mower is a Life Saver! I added a Ryobi 40v 20" self-propelled mower to growing Ryobi products. I bought this two days ago, and I had the opportunity to mow my front lawn for the first time this year today. It took me six minutes to put together and get it running. I cannot explain how happy I was that it started on the first push of the button. I used my 3ah 40v battery to mow while the 6ah battery was charging. The self-propelled system can kick it when you need it to do so. Another benefit is that this mower is very light weight. I was on cruise control! It is so quiet so I can start mowing early in the morning or later on in the evening when it gets hotter. I am excited that I bought this mower, and I'd tell anyone to jump on board with Ryobi!
Date published: 2020-04-01
  • y_2021, m_5, d_12, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_35, tr_876
  • loc_en_US, sid_311084824, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobioutdoortools

Support