3 1/4 IN. Portable Hand Planer

Model: #HPL52K

4.7 | 60 Reviews
The RYOBI 6-Amp 3-1/4 in. Corded Hand Planer has more power and is more compact than the previous model, and has up to 1/8 inch depth of cut. This tool features a kickstand which allows you to set the planer down on a work piece or table area without damaging the work piece or the blade.

Features

Ryobi three year warranty logo

All RYOBI Outdoor Products purchased on or after 1.1.09 are covered by a 3-year warranty. All RYOBI Portable Power Tools and Bench/Stationary tools purchased on or after 1.1.11 are covered by a 3-year warranty.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

  • Motor: 120V AC, 60Hz, 6 amp
  • Speed: 16,500 RPM (No Load Speed)
  • Maximum Cutting Depth: 1/8”
  • Maximum Cutting Width: 3-1/4”
  • Maximum Rabbet Depth: 1/2"

Includes

  • HPL52 Hand Planer with (2) Reversible Double Edged Blades
  • Blade Wrench
  • Rabbet Edge Guide
  • Dust Bag
  • Tool Bag
  • Operator’s Manual

Reviews

3 1/4 IN. Portable Hand Planer
3 1/4 IN. Portable Hand Planer is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tremendous Planer We were working on an older house hanging sheetrock that is not even close to plumb...anywhere. At a joint of two sheets the stud was not only not plumb it was twisted causing the right hand sheet to protrude a 1/4". It was far too much to hand plane then the idea of a planner popped up. We went straight to Home Depot after checking that they had one and returned with it. It took a little learning but in a short time we had planed the twisted stud and the two sheets were flush. The planer paid for itself on that one job. The dust bag works great from either side and saves much clean up. Well made and well designed.
Date published: 2020-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bang for the buck I rarely use a power planer so I’ve never had the need to purchase one until now. I am building a large deck and realized I could buy the Ryobi power planer for about the same cost as renting one for three days. I rented a Makita several years ago which cost a little more than twice the Ryobi. I can say without a doubt the Ryobi performs just as well as the Makita. I really like the directional exhaust port. My only complaint is that the dust bag is too small.
Date published: 2019-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great I use this when installation doors. I invest in real estate and buy dilapidated properties. I used to hate putting in doors. I feel like I could spend hrs just trying to get them square in a 100 y/o house that wasn't square itself. So now when I have that annoying little cornor that rubs I use this to cut the smallest part off the door and it works perfect.
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I bought this on June 14th and used it immediately to plane a cabinet for clearance to slide a new refrigerator under the overhead cabinet. It worked like a charm quickly removing the material and was easy to control even upside down. Connecting it the wet-dry vacuum was easy too and helped control the mess and reduce cleanup. I would buy this again.
Date published: 2019-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved the day Bought the ryobi planer to help finish a sled headboard. What a lifesaver. Worked perfectly and furnished product was a hit.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistent and Accurate Works great for the purpose of a hand planer. I got consistent and accurate cuts without grooving. Overall, a good buy for the money.
Date published: 2020-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cordless Easy to use. No cords. Comes with carry bag. It’s the perfect combo and costs less than competitors.
Date published: 2020-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as good as the expensive brands I have had my eye on an electric hand planer for a long time and finally needed it badly for a remodel project. The price was better than the other major brands. It turned out that this one worked great. It is very powerful and smooth. I am so glad that Ryobi gives so much bang for the buck. I get the impression that this tool will be with me a decade + from now
Date published: 2019-06-07
  • y_2020, m_9, d_20, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_205509610, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobi-tools

Support