2 Peak HP Plunge Router

Model: #RE180PL1G

4.6 | 37 Reviews
Introducing the RYOBI 2 HP Plunge Router. This tool features a 2 HP, 10-Amp variable-speed motor that lets you match speed to the bit you're using for versatility. This router features SOFT START™ variable speed allowing for up to 25000 RPM. The 2 HP Plunge Router also features micro-adjustment and accepts a variety of router bits.

Features

Ryobi three year warranty logo

All RYOBI Outdoor Products purchased on or after 1.1.09 are covered by a 3-year warranty. All RYOBI Portable Power Tools and Bench/Stationary tools purchased on or after 1.1.11 are covered by a 3-year warranty.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

  • Motor: 120V AC, 2 Peak HP, 10 AMP
  • No Load Speed: 15,000-25,000 RPM (No Load Speed)
  • Collet Size: 1/2 in. with 1/4 in. adaptor
  • Plunge Depth: 0–2 in.
  • Weight: 8.5 lbs.

Includes

  • RE180PL1G Router
  • 1/2 in. Collet
  • 1/4 in. Adaptor
  • Operator’s Manual

Reviews

2 Peak HP Plunge Router
2 Peak HP Plunge Router is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 38.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and powerful Great plunge router, love that I can use either 1/4 or 1/2 inch bits because it makes shopping for and using different types of bits a breeze. Very easy to use, has great power... highly recommend.
Date published: 2020-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! I bought this router for a vanity-top shelf project mainly for flush cutting, but it has quickly blossomed into more bits and new projects. The variable speed is a great feature for adjusting for uphill and downhill cuts. Adjustable depth setting is easy to customize upon changing bits. It performed flawlessly. Only thing that would be nice to have would be a port for adding a vacuum hose for a more cleanly shop. Overall, for the value features and price, I would highly recommend!
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool for the price I've only been able to use it a hand full of times but so far its worth the money. Easy to use and accurate depth gages. The only let down is there isn't a way to hook up a shop vac, because this thing will make a mess. Also wish they didn't use the button style lock for the bits. You have to hold a button and use the wrench to get it out. Would make it inconvenient to use as a table router. But other than that its a great tool. Ready for more projects with it.
Date published: 2020-06-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Last through 4 projects. Worked great while it did, but after 4 relevantly small projects , it failed. Only being 9 months old, it was very disappointing. This was my first Ryobi tool, will probably be my last. I purchased this hoping it would last a long time. It has a 3 year warranty, however I would have to bring it to a "certified" Ryobi repair center. I purchased the router table too, hopefully it can be modified to fit another router. If not, its trash too.
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the power and ease of use! This was my first experience with a plunge router and I'm glad I did it with this one. I used it to install some t-track on a workbench. I like how easy it was to set the depth of the cut with the depth gauge and a piece of the track. The power of the router cut through the wood with great ease . I am not disappointed.
Date published: 2020-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Take the plunge My wife bought one for me two years ago and it crapped out. I don’t know if I pushed it too hard but one day it shut off and wouldn’t turn on again. It would get very hot too. Luckily it was still under warranty so I got it replaced no questions asked. My new one hasn’t given me any issues and I am pleased with it
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No regrets! I bought the earlier model almost identical to this one around 10 years ago. It had the blue enclosure but looks the same. One of the best power tools I have ever bought and it just keeps on going. The 2HP motor and speed control never bogs down and the plunge works every time. Really comfortable to use, too!
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mounting screws do not fit I bought this a couple months ago and finally decided to mount it to a table. But it turns out one of the screw holes isn't big enough for the included 5/16-18 screw. Makes it impossible to mount unless I make the hole bigger or go buy a smaller screw. Super disappointed. How does that even happen.
Date published: 2020-09-06
  • y_2020, m_9, d_20, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_205509658, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobi-tools

Support