18V ONE+™ CORNER CAT™ Finish Sander

Model: #P401

4.6 | 188 Reviews
Get the smooth, swirl-free finish your sanding projects require with the new and improved 18V ONE+™ CORNER CAT™ Finish Sander. This unit is over 23% more compact compared to the previous model and reaches up to 11,000 orbits per minute during sanding. The RYOBI 18V ONE+™ CORNER CAT™ Finish Sander works with any 18V ONE+ battery (sold separately) and is a part of the ONE+™ System of over 50 great tools that all work with the same 18V battery platform.

Features

Ryobi three year warranty logo

This product is covered by a 3-year limited warranty.

The RYOBI 18V ONE+ System features over 175 unique products, giving you the ultimate in versatility and selection to get the job done.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

  • Volts: 18V
  • OPM: 11,000 (No Load Speed)
  • Weight: 1.35 lbs.

Includes

  • P401 CORNER CAT™
  • (3) Pieces of Sandpaper
  • Operator’s Manual

Reviews

18V ONE+™ CORNER CAT™ Finish Sander
18V ONE+™ CORNER CAT™ Finish Sander is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 186.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent little sander This is such a versatile little sander! I have used it to refinish a bookshelf, clean up some old wood to be reused, as well as touching up a previous job that needed a little extra attention. My favorite part about the Corner CAT finish sander (besides that it fits in your hand) is that it has a hook & loop sanding surface, allowing you to easily and quickly change the sandpaper you are using. Also, because of the hook and loop, you aren’t required to get the exact fit for this sander. You can get other sand paper, so long as it has the hook and loop, and cut it shape/size for the job you are working on. This aspect makes it so much more valuable!
Date published: 2019-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best Sanding tools I have I bought my first "Corner Cat about 5 years ago. Next to the cordless "drill/driver", I think this is my most used and favorite tool. It gets a lot of use indoors and outdoors and can reach those places a belt or rotating sander can not. Most recently in completing a project the sander died on me. Looked at what could be the issue and after ruling out the battery or a switch concluded that the use and abuse it took for 5 years---it did not owe me anything, and went to Home Deport and bought another one for $39.95. Literally $8 a year---really very good and I know I put pressure on it and did some very rough sanding with it. An excellent tool---and yes, I bought another one.
Date published: 2020-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Major Battery Insertion/Removal Issue After buying an 18V ONE+ Corner Cat sander from one Home Depot Store, I had to return it due to the fact that it took Herculean strength to insert and remove the battery. I tried several different batteries: same issue. Then I bought another one from another Home Depot store in hopes that I just got a dud with the first one. Nope, same problem. Obviously a flaw with this product as I have many Ryobi products and the battery slips in easily on all of those. As well as not wanting to have to exert that much effort every time, I would think it may damage the battery connection when so much force must be applied repeatedly. Come on, Ryobi, fix this as I really want to have this sander!
Date published: 2018-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really love it This is one of my best Sanders, love the fact that it’s not too hard to my projects I work with pine a lot so I need to be extra careful, I have use a 4wts battery and it last me hours, the way it fits in my hand it’s perfect. One of the best parts of this sander is how easy to change sand paper.
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very versital. I like the corner cat design because it is one sander that can get into corners and do large flat surfaces too. Square and round sanders aren't so good in the corners. I used only my smallest batteries because you really don't want a lot of weight in your hand when sanding. With a small battery, it doesn't weigh much more than a comparable corded model. It met all my expectations for performance. I have one small suggestion and it is for the packaging. This is my first corner cat and while I was buying it, I also wanted to get an extra pack of sand paper for it. I could not find the size of the paper needed on the outside of the box, at least not at first. I can't remember if I finally found it or if I determined the size of the pad by measuring the display model. If the size is not on the box, it should be. If it is, it should be easier to find.
Date published: 2020-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I have always needed a detail sander. I had one and loaned it out and needless to say needed to replace it. I saw that Ryobi had one that matched the cordless 18 volt platform that all of my other tools used and am very happy I made the choice to go cordless. It is strong and uses the sand pads that my old one uses. It gets into corners and hard to reach edges and with the different coarseness coices there is nothing I cant do. Another great choice regarding Ryobi quality and reliability especially for the price!
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Excellent Ryobi Purchase! Replaced the corded version with the cordless version. So much more freedom being untethered, and with the new Lithium+ HP battery, the power and run time have increased dramatically! Love my Ryobi!
Date published: 2020-08-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Low price/low quality If you are going to use a sander more than for small home projects, pay up and get a better sander. My main complaint is the plastic clips that hold the battery in the sander. I have to hit the battery very hard to get it to stay in. Then to remove, I have to not only push the buttons on the battery but use a screwdriver to pry the battery out. I also hate the location of the on/off button. I frequently hit this button by accident while using and turn off the sander.
Date published: 2020-11-17
  • y_2020, m_11, d_29, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_186
  • loc_en_US, sid_206354299, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobi-tools

Support