18V ONE+™ brushless reciprocating saw

Model: #P517

4.7 | 231 Reviews
  • Brushless motor provides more runtime, more power, and longer motor life
  • 60% faster cutting compared to RYOBI P514 reciprocating saw
  • ORBITAL ACTION for faster, more aggressive cutting with easy on/off selector

OUTLAST, OUTPERFORM & OUTDISTANCE THE COMPETITION

Features

Ryobi three year warranty logo

This product is covered by a 3-year limited warranty.

The RYOBI 18V ONE+ System features over 175 unique products, giving you the ultimate in versatility and selection to get the job done.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

Dimensions

Tool Weight
5.6 lbs
Blade Stroke
1-1/8 in.

Details

Battery
18V
No Load Speed
0-3,200 SPM
Onboard Wrench Storage
Yes
Trigger
Variable Speed

Warranty

Certifications and Listings
1-UL Listed

Includes

Reviews

18V ONE+™ brushless reciprocating saw
18V ONE+™ brushless reciprocating saw is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 229.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Reciprocating Saw I bought this several months ago for some flexibility with pruning and renovations and it has proven to be one of my favorite tools. I used it back in the late fall to help clear some shooting lanes in one of the overgrown areas I hunt and paired with a 9" carbide tipped pruning blade this saw is amazing with great battery life. Pared with a good metal blades I have used it to cut metal pipe and sheet metal for a few projects and used it extensively for demolishing and old 18'x18' shed that had seen it's days on the farm. Again, this saw handled all of this without any issues and the battery life did not disappoint.
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well designed saw. Great value! Purchased this saw to replace a brushed version that has been in service over 10 years. It was finally showing signs of years of wear. My tools are used but not abused, so it owed me nothing. Also own an AC powered saw, but dragging a cord is inconvenient at best, and other times impossible. So far, am impressed with the power and build quality, and the rotary action is a great addition. Speed control is linear and well controlled. The work light is the best one I have used on this type of saw. One feature I really appreciate is the trigger safety interlock; does the job without being intrusive. Have used many saws over the 40+ years I have been working, and this one checks all the boxes.
Date published: 2020-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Minor issues I bought one several months ago. It worked great. However the blade release mechanism failed and I could not get the blade out. I was advised to return it to Home Depot. However I could not get the blade out. HD's tool center spent about 30 minutes working on it to get the blade out. I was then able to exchange it for a new one. I got home and found I could not put the blade in. After playing with it a while I determined that I could get the blade in and out by putting it in at an angle to one side. Probably not how it was suppose to work but does. Operationally extremely please.
Date published: 2020-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very powerful, great grip and hand placement. I have owned this 2015... its not the newest mode. This has been worth its weight in gold. I have put it through its paces, cutting apart hundreds of pallets, 2x4s, metal studs, pipes, PVC and more. I own a Haunted Attraction, so we build tons of sets that cover over 13,000 square feet. This one is starting to get a little worn out, the battery sometimes doesn't stay connected, but I expect this after the amount of hours we ask of it. We ended up buying another one for our Haunt and may purchase some more for those volunteers that come to help.
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from safer tree trimming... my small chainsaw died and my new neighbor told me about how he used a reciprocating saw with a pruning blade for all his tree trimming needs. My previous saw was a corded model that I sold in the estate sale 6 states away, and I was hesitant to try a cordless unit for such demanding work. But the Ryobi Brushless with the 18volt batteries really do a great job, while also being very easy to handle and have a lot of tourque for cutting tree branches and cutting up long branches into small even sizes pieces for stacking in the wood pile.
Date published: 2019-07-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Design problem This is the second one of these I've purchased. I had the first one for just six months and a problem occurred: it was impossible to release the installed blade. I took it to the local Home Depot, an authorized repair facility, and the people there were unable to get the blade to release. I was told it would take at least six weeks for a warranty repair. I couldn't go without a saw for that long. I threw the first one away and purchased this second one. There is obviously a design shortcoming in the blade clamp mechanism.
Date published: 2020-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Substantial I had an old corded Makita for years and used it pretty infrequently. So when I was updating my tools to Ryobi cordless, I thought twice and replacing this tool but did so anyway, because of the offer to get a free pair of 3hr batteries. I am really glad that I did so. The BEST feature for me is the tool-less blade change (can tell my old saw was dated). Also the LED light is helpful and the orbital mode is a nice option. I feels very substantial in hand and has a comfortable grip. The safety lock is a good design in that you don't have to push it as your making your cut. My only foible with the saw is that when i was cutting a four inch metal pipe, the heavy metal cutting diablo blade came loose a couple of times. Not sure if that was operator error, or latch design.
Date published: 2020-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like the new Brushless motor tools I really like the new Brushless motor tools. This saw has so much more power than my 10 year old Ryobi reciprocating saw. The best thing about Ryobi tools is that the 18V battery continues to be the power for every Ryobi device we currently have from our string trimmer to the hand vacuum. I wish that Ryobi would consider developing tools that will use two or three of the 18V batteries when more power is required (instead of adding a 40V battery requirement for the lawn mower, trimmer etc).
Date published: 2020-06-15
  • y_2020, m_11, d_29, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_229
  • loc_en_US, sid_301848739, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobi-tools

Support