EXPAND-IT™ Snow Thrower Attachment

Model: #RYSNW00

4.3 | 36 Reviews
The RYOBI Expand-It Snow Thrower Attachment is ideal for clearing up to 6 inches of snow from sidewalks, decks, and driveways. For added convenience, the offset handle allows users to walk along the cleared path. Backed by a 3-year limited warranty, there has never been a better time to add to your Expand-It family of tools.
Ryobi three year warranty logo

All RYOBI Outdoor Products purchased on or after 1.1.09 are covered by a 3-year warranty. All RYOBI Portable Power Tools and Bench/Stationary tools purchased on or after 1.1.11 are covered by a 3-year warranty.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

  • Clearing Width: 8 in.
  • Weight: 8 lbs.

Includes

  • EXPAND-IT™ Snow Thrower Attachment
  • Attachment Hanging Cap
  • Operator's Manual

Reviews

EXPAND-IT™ Snow Thrower Attachment
EXPAND-IT™ Snow Thrower Attachment is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 36.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool. I bought this just after a big storm to clear my sidewalks. It not only did the job. It passed all expectations.
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great so far I took delivery at my Home Depot the day before yesterday, and we had a light snowfall last night. About 2 inches. That's way too small to pull out the gas powered snow blower, so I tried out my new Ryobi Snow Thrower Attachment. I was able to clear a 3-car driveway, 25-foot walkway and 65-foot sidewalk in front of my house on one 2.5AH 40V battery. I'm sure I'll get less runtime with deeper snow, but in most of those cases I'd use the big gas powered unit anyway. The good-excellent price, easy to use, cleared 12-inch wide swaths pretty efficiently. The bad-it's end-heavy, so it's a bit of a strain, but once I worked out how to hold it and work with it (stand straight up, tuck the battery end under your elbow) it worked great. I know I'll get a lot of use from this.
Date published: 2018-12-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better Received as a gift when a wheeled snow blower model was discontinued. Rather ungainly to handle. Came with a secondary handle, but it was not referenced in the instructions, and I needed to contact company to find out what the heck to do with it. Would've liked it if blades were pitched so that snow is thrown at an angle. Blowing the snow straight into my path isn't helpful for most of my uses. Might be good for quick clears. However, in those cases, a shovel is lighter and I can throw snow in any direction i want.
Date published: 2020-02-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked great for a while. When I first started using it, I liked it a lot. But after using it in slushy snow, it broke. I guess it stripped a gear. I have to take it to the service center and see what happens.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This snow thrower is a great addition to my expand-it collection. I just used it the other day. I got about 6 to 7 inches of fairly heavy, wet snow. I attached it to my 2-cycle power head and went to work. Even with the heavy snow, my snow thrower was clearing it with ease and launching the snow 20+ feet. I would highly recommend this tool!
Date published: 2019-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed I bought this just before Christmas, and it arrived the day before a light snow storm. We had about 3 inches of wet snow, and I connected this to my 40V power head with a 2.5AH battery. I was able to clear a 3 car driveway, the walkway to the door, and the sidewalk in front. A couple days later, we had about 3 inches of dry snow, and I did the same thing without difficulty. since the main mass is off center to the rod that connects to the power head, you hold the unit in your right hands on the right side of your body, and the shovel unit is right in front of you, centered. I found it easier to run the unit at a slight angle, throwing the snow away from the path I've already cleared. It tossed the snow about 6 feet, typically. I expect to use this for the smaller snowfalls we get from time to time, and keep using the big gas powered 2-stage for the big ones we get.
Date published: 2019-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Perfect Using this is like finding the right angle on your razor while shaving, it is getting close but not as close as you want it. The throwing blades are made of hard plastic, I wish they were rubber and replaceable. IT throws the snow a decent distance but make sure it is not into the wind. It does get a little heavy so if you have a shoulder strap, use it. it is still way better than using a normal shovel though.
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesnt look it but its poweful I bought this a few months ago and it was collecting dust until this week. Thought it was a bad investment until several inches of snow dropped. It made quick work of the snow but the only draw back is it shoots it in front of you. I knew this going in so it wasn't a surprise and it's a small price to pay knowing how sore my back would've been without it.
Date published: 2019-01-31
  • y_2020, m_10, d_22, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_303366003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobioutdoortools

Support