40V VAC ATTACK™ Leaf Mulcher

Model: #RY40405BTL

4.0 | 161 Reviews
The RYOBI VAC ATTACK™ Cordless Leaf Vacuum features 2-in-1 vacuum and mulching functions to make yard clean up quick and convenient. Featuring a durable metal impeller, shred up to 16 bags of leaves down to just 1. It includes a heavy-duty bag and adjustable wheels, allowing you to easily maneuver over a variety of terrains. The variable speed dial gives you ultimate control Tear through large piles of leaves or dial back the speed for precision vacuuming in plant beds. The VAC ATTACK™ Cordless Leaf Vacuum is compatible with 40 plus RYOBI 40V tools, batteries and chargers and is backed by a 5-year warranty.

Features

Ryobi five year warranty
*Tool Warranty

All RYOBI 40V tools are covered by a 5-year limited warranty.

The RYOBI 40V System features over 50 products, providing versatility to get the job done.

View our current promotions for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

  • Throttle: Variable Speed
  • Impeller Material: Metal
  • Mulch Ratio: 16:1
  • Watt Hours: 144
  • Weight: 12.7 lbs.
  • Warranty: 5 Year

Includes

  • 40V VAC ATTACK™ Leaf Mulcher
  • Operator's Manual

Reviews

40V VAC ATTACK™ Leaf Mulcher
40V VAC ATTACK™ Leaf Mulcher is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 161.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Like the tool; Hate the bag I purchased this product along with many other Ryobi tools for my lawn care and maintenance. This leaf vacuum worked great but quickly began falling apart. The first to go were the wheels. The next was the bag. I have replaced the leaf bag twice already and I am in need of replacing it again. The zippers on the leaf bags are extremely weak and have broken each within 3-4 uses. It should also be noted that to use this tool properly requires the user to fully carry the leaf load while sucking up leaves which puts a lot of strain on your forearms. It can be a real workout using this tool. It works well but at a recurring cost.
Date published: 2020-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great idea! This works great if you have a steady vacuum pace. Picks up leaves and small twigs easily. Two items to consider- make the wheel unit sturdier. The hubs have snapped off twice in the 2 months I have had the unit. I was able to glue them back on but they are a weak spot. This is the main reason I got the Ryobi is because the pick up tube is wheeled; makes the job a whole lot easier than my non wheeled Toro. The other thing is make the bag attaching clip adjustable. Unless you twist it a couple of times before attaching it to the tube it falls off in normal use. Like I said it is a great unit with a lot of power.
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I bought this a few months ago & used it for the first time today. It did pick up leaves but there are several things I think should be corrected &/or added. There should be a shoulder strap as it gets heavy as the bag fills & the way it has to be held in order for it to suck up the leaves. An on/off switch would be better than having to hold down the lever to keep it running. My bag would not stay clipped on, perhaps a different type of hook. Lastly, the leaves did not mulch as claimed on the box which was disappointing. I have several other Ryobi yard tools & have been pleased with them. This product definitely needs improvement & am debating on whether or not I'm going to keep it.
Date published: 2020-10-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but could be better I bought this early October. Within 10 hours of use one wheel broke. Within another 5 hours the other broke. Ordered 2 replacements that went arrive for another couple weeks. I like the multi speed function. The bag holds a lot and can get heavy, which may have contributed to the wheels breaking. The battery life was less than expected but ok. I like the ease of removing and emptying the bag. Based on the wheel issue, I am concerned the velcro closure or zippers will wear out quickly. Love the ease of popping on the battery and getting to work.
Date published: 2020-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic addition to the Ryobi Family I snagged this when it finally was available here and love it. Look, does this suck up every leaf and debris on the ground? No. Does it pick up a huge majority of the ground debris, then mulch, then bag it all in one? Yes. It is completely worth it. Now, this being my first order from Ryobi tools online, I was put off by the tool only having the booklet and no box since it was reconditioned. But after about 10min after unpackaging and using it, the only difference between this and a “new” one, was not having to break down the box. No joke, it felt new and worked perfectly. All in all this was a first of many purchases from this website!
Date published: 2021-02-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BEWARE- DON'T BUY I bought this online from Home Depot last fall, used it a couple times and then resumed use this spring. First I had to replace the zip tie that holds the bag on the housing. Next a wheel broke off and a day later it died completely. Took it to a "service center" in town who diagnosed a bad board and cooked motor. Unfortunately they had a falling out Ryobi so were no longer a service center and could not repair it. There are no other Ryobi cordless repair centers in this town. Apparently I paid over $200 for a piece of green and black plastic garbage!! DO NOT BUY!!!
Date published: 2021-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very specific flaws. It sucks (leaves) First of all, it does suck up leaves (However you have to hold it is and specific, uncomfortable manner. I'll come back to this....) Unfortunately this is where I can no longer praise this device. This is saddening to me as I am a Ryobi fan and owner of many Ryobi products. One of the wheels broke off during its 4th use. [See picture] The opening where the leaves are sucked in is not at an angle that allows maximum suction to the leaves. When the device is held so the wheels are touching the ground (and set at the lowest level) and the bag is dragging along the ground (I read a Ryobi response in a review that the bag is designed to be dragged) most of the leaves are not sucked up. The opening is tiled upward too much and suction to the leaves is lost. [See pictures] In order to maximize the suction to the leaves, the device must be hoisted higher on the handle side. This causes the user to have to carry the leaf load which then becomes disproportionately heavy and the front handle becomes useless. I have to switch my hands so that my leading hand is gripping the trigger handle backwards and using my little finger to pull the trigger. My rear hand (previously on the trigger handle) is now under the battery to support the weight. Most upsettingly is the lack of mulching. I do not see mulched leaves when I empty the bag. I do see some leaves appear to have small tears in them. [See picture] I did not search through the bag to find only a few to support my claim. The sample in the picture is an accurate representation of the entire bag. It is very difficult to accept the claim on the packaging that it mulches 16 bags into 1. I have not seen a difference in the 2 huge bags that I have filled. I am very surprised that this product made it out of testing in this form. If you are on the fence about purchasing this, I'd wait until another model of two have come out. Hopefully corrections are made to its design.
Date published: 2020-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product! I bought one of these leaf vacuums at Home Depot. It picked up a piece of bark and the motor stopped. I was directed to the Home Depot rental shop to have it fixed. They told me to take it in the store and get a new one. I thought that would be possible but it is not! Home Depot does not carry this 40 v Vacuum! I have asked them to carry it again. They gave me a store credit my for broken one but I cannot replace the unit at Home Depot for any amount. It would be very helpful if you would have them carry the vacuum again. Several people that I know either have one or say they would buy one if it were available.
Date published: 2021-06-08
  • y_2021, m_6, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_157
  • loc_en_US, sid_308900648, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobioutdoortools

Support