40V 8" Pole Saw with 2Ah Battery & Charger

Model: #RY40540

4.7 | 132 Reviews
  • GAS-LIKE POWER™ with cordless convenience
  • 2X the run time of the previous model
  • Angled cutting head for more cutting options

Extending the limits of limbing and pruning

Features

Ryobi five year warranty
*Tool Warranty

All RYOBI 40V Tools are covered by a 5-Year Limited Warranty.

Ryobi three year battery warranty logo
* Battery Warranty

All RYOBI Batteries are covered by a 3-year warranty.

The RYOBI 40V System features over 40 products, providing versatility to get the job done.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

Dimensions

Battery
40V 2.0 ah Battery
Bar & Chain Size
8"
Cut Capacity
6"
Length
Adjustable 6.5' - 9.5'
Replacement Chain
Y33 .043"
Warranty
5 year tool warranty and 3 year battery warranty
Weight
9.5 lbs.

Includes

Reviews

40V 8" Pole Saw with 2Ah Battery & Charger
40V 8" Pole Saw with 2Ah Battery & Charger is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 132.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great cutting, but the weight is heavy I bought this RYOBI pole chainsaw 2 days ago. I used it for the first time today. I have a RYOBI 40 volt blower and a RYOBI trimmer/edger that use the same RYOBI 40 volt battery/charger system. This unit also is compatible, so I did not have to buy another battery/charger. It cuts great, but the weight is heavy. I was able to pace myself and complete the cutting of large viburnums that were over-hanging my roof. I would recommend that if you find yourself getting tired, stop! It is better to be safe than exposing yourself to carelessness.
Date published: 2019-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes tree branch trimming super-easy I'm a big fan of this. It certainly needs to be respected (it's a chainsaw on a pole), and you need to be careful with where you stand and where you cut branches, so they don't hit you on the head. But it makes tree trimming super-easy, and with my 4Ah battery, I trimmed 20 branches or so in about 45 minutes, and my batter showed 4 out of 4 power (full power) after the work. It's super-easy to use, seems safe if you follow the directions, and slices right through branches so quickly. Remember to buy some bar and chain oil with this, if you don't have any, as you'll need it to start using it.
Date published: 2019-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor quality control I purchased on line as it was not available in store. Could not assemble because a piece of a pop rivit did not allow the tube to slide together. OK, removed pop rivit pin and assembled tubes. Then realized chain was running backward! A call to Ryobi service and they suggested taking the motor apart and swapping the wires. OK, but wires not long enough to swap, so removed motor and installed correctly. Seems like a lot of work for buying a new product. I currently own 3 other Ryobi cordless products and never had any troubles. I'm guessing quality control was off that day?
Date published: 2019-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Customer I needed a saw to trim trees. I was not going to climb the tree so researched pole saws. I have never owned a chainsaw before. I wanted to use a battery saw to not miss with 2-cycle. I just needed for light duty use. After some research, I decided on RYOBI. I decided on the 8" pole saw. I also bought a RYOBI blower at the same time. I am very happy with the saw. It is easy to use. The instructions were good for someone who had not used one before. Yes as some reviewers stated it can be a little hard to handle, but what do you expect when you put a saw at the end of a long pool. I am very happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2020-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Performed; but looking back I would not buy. Starting off, this unit does perform for the little that I used it. Had a project of cutting several trees down around the house. Bought this in addition to a 14" 4A chain saw (which is amazing 5 star). So why wouldn't I buy again? First - the extenders have too much play when needing to have maximum reach. The stability clamps do not give it much stability (minimize the flex) and add a degree of complexity when trying to use it. For short / lower limbs it worked great and lasted quite a while. Plus being part of the ONE+, if you have other Ryobi tools, the battery is interchangable. So for my particular use, I rate this a 3 star; but other than the stability issue, the unit performed.
Date published: 2020-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well but heavy I bought this thinking I could prune an overgrown hedge that has limbs about 1-2" thick. The saw cuts through them effortlessly - for the saw. For me it was a struggle. The saw is heavy overall and even heavier with the cutting head in the air. I will probably have to hire someone to prune the hedge.
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Thing Is A Hoss (In a good way) Bought this over a year ago. Have used it to clear trees and brush, a lot. Runs for a long time off one battery charge. Really good for the money. Seldom use the extra extension, but nice to know its there. Recently had it sitting on the back of my tractor when I drove through a tight spot. Regretfully I bent it like a horse shoe. Wasn't even mad, because it had already given me a LOT of use. But straightened it out in a vise, and it still works, pretty good!!
Date published: 2020-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than I expected! Holds a charge for longer than I ever expected. Usually over an hour of Almost constant cutting. Cuts thru large limbs quickly. I have been using it to cut brush as well as limbs above. With the long reach, you can get back under the bushes without bending over or getting scratched up by the bushes. Battery recharges quickly. Have used for over 10 hours, have not had to sharpen yet. Chain is easy to tighten, only needed put back on once. Bar and chain oil needs added about every half hour. Does not come with oil. I am very happy with this product.
Date published: 2020-02-24
  • y_2020, m_9, d_20, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_128
  • loc_en_US, sid_306706835, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobioutdoortools

Support