40V 4AH Lithium-ion Battery

Model: #OP4040A1

4.7 | 490 Reviews
Compatible with all RYOBI 40V Lithium tools and chargers, the 40V 4.0 AH Lithium-ion Battery is the perfect addition to your RYOBI 40V tool collection. It's lithium-ion cells deliver fade-free performance from start to finish. The convenient on-board battery life indicator keeps you informed while you're out in the yard tackling your landscaping jobs. The 40V 4.0 AH Lithium-ion Battery's extra cell capacity is perfect for higher output tools like 40V mowers, blowers and chain saws. RYOBI 40V Lithium surrenders nothing but gas.

Features

Ryobi three year warranty logo

This product is covered by a 3-year limited warranty.

The RYOBI 40V System features over 50 products, providing versatility to get the job done.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Specifications

  • Voltage: 40
  • Amp Hours: 4.0
  • Cell Type: Lithium-ion
  • Compatibility: All RYOBI 40V Lithium Tools & Chargers
  • Weight: 4 lbs.
  • Warranty: 3 Year Limited

Includes

  • 40V 4.0 AH Lithium-ion Battery
  • Operator's Manual

Reviews

40V 4AH Lithium-ion Battery
40V 4AH Lithium-ion Battery is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 490.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I purchased my 20 in 40 volt Lawn Mower and battery included last month and it was the best investment I good ever invest in for my lawn care. I have a huge backyard, and this lawn mower and 40V lithium ION battery did not let me down like my other lawnmower did. By it being operated by not only a battery but a powerful long lasting battery that got me through my huge backyard without running out of power and some more battery time left to do my next door neighbors yard as well. I love love love my powerful battery lawnmower. I recommended this product to several of my neighbors and they said they would definitely purchase this product.
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does the job on smaller yards. I like Ryobia tools and have purchased a lot of them--mostly construction tools. When my gas trimmer died, I decided to try yard tools. I own several but mostly use the trimmer. I have a larger yard and now have several batteries that I keep charged. I wish the batteries lasted longer but they do the job. If you have a small city yard, you could probably get away with one battery. I purchased a 6ah battery, which lasted a bit longer. One of these failed prematurely. The batteries are sometimes hard to pull out of the tools which could be an issue for women or older people (or people with arthritis).
Date published: 2020-10-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from On the Edge I had received this as a birthday gift and I was very pleased about the product. If you are debating about completing a task because you don’t think your regular battery can handle, then let me tell you that this product will make you rethink what you can’t complete. The only problem that I have is that the battery has died on me and not come back to life within 1 month. I tried to exchange it at the local Home Depot but since I was not the original purchaser they told me they couldn’t do anything for me. So with this being my issue I’m stuck between a rock and a hard place to decide if I love it or would pass on it.
Date published: 2020-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid battery with great capacity I power a weedeater with this battery and couldn't be more pleased. I bought an extra one because i was sure i would need it. Turns out, I can do my yard and my old neighbors yard next door and still have over half a battery remaining. This battery barely gets warm even after an half an hour of continuous use! Plus, it has a built in battery meter that tells you how much juice you have left! And don't even get me started on the great 40V weedeater Ryobi makes!! But that's for another review! This battery gets 2 thumbs up!!
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real time saver! I have dozens of Palo Verde & Mesquite tress on my property of which have grown so tall that I use and extended ladder to reach. This little but not so weak pole saw did the trick in one day of cutting. I cut over 20 tress, 80 plus branches 2- 12 inch thick. Its angle is designed leverages its chain to hug the the branch cutting it with hardly any effort, amazing! One charge on the battery. It cost more to have the gardeners pick up the branches (two days) than the saw cost me. One of my best purchase of Ryobi yet! ty
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong battery but wish it lasted longer Strong 40a battery that powers my ryobi chain saw and backpack blower. This new battery came with the blower. Impressed with what it powers. I think I saw that it should power the blower for 46 minutes. In real life I sometimes use the extra power which is supposed to run for two minutes and I’m sure further drains the battery. Just a ballpark, the battery may last about 30 minutes for real life use. But really like the products that it powers. When some folks from church helped a member clear out a burned shed the battery powered chain saw out performed the hard to start sometimes sputtering gas models that other members brought. We just need a few batteries so we can always complete our tasks.
Date published: 2021-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I purchased a Ryobi 40 V, 21" snowblower st the urging of my daughter. It was either that or continue the old-fashioned way - with a shovel, and in Michigan I expect the snowblower to get plenty of use. And I'm tired of the hassle of gas-powered equipment. In early November we got about 8 - 9 inches of heavy, wet snow, so the initial trial on my new snowblower happened earlier than expected. I wasn't completely confident that it would perform in that kind of snow, but I was pleasantly surprised. Taking my time with it, the snowblower worked even better than I hoped. I was able to clear my whole 80' two car width drive with a single charge of the double batteries. Definitely a worthwhile purchase!
Date published: 2019-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Expensive, unreliable batteries Started out with 4 batteries none of which lasted more than 2 years and a couple lasted less than one. After the first one failed I registered the rest on the website for warranty coverage. But since I did not also register the tools that were included with the batteries they would not honor the warranty. If you have to buy these batteries make sure you jump thru all their hoops and save paperwork.
Date published: 2019-06-19
  • y_2021, m_5, d_12, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_36, tr_454
  • loc_en_US, sid_307973316, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobioutdoortools

Support