2 Cycle Full Crank Power Head

Model: #RY251PH

4.6 | 1138 Reviews
Introducing the Ryobi 2-Cycle Gas Power Head with a full crank engine for 2X longer life and a Zip Start carburetor for easier starting. This power head accepts Ryobi Expand-It Universal Brand Fit attachments adding versatility to your unit. Simply attach an edger, a blower, or even a hedge trimmer to the power head and quickly move from project to project. Save time, save space, and save money with the Ryobi Expand-It System. Backed by a 3 year warranty, trust the Ryobi 2-Cycle Gas Power Head for any of your outdoor projects.

Features

Ryobi three year warranty logo

All RYOBI Outdoor Products purchased on or after 1.1.09 are covered by a 3-year warranty. All RYOBI Portable Power Tools and Bench/Stationary tools purchased on or after 1.1.11 are covered by a 3-year warranty.

View our current catalog for new product releases and the latest RYOBI savings!

Ryobi Help+

Your one stop destination for tips & techniques, manuals, troubleshooting, FAQs and more!

Includes

  • Power Head
  • 2 Cycle Ethanol Shield Oil

Reviews

2 Cycle Full Crank Power Head
2 Cycle Full Crank Power Head is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 1137.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Still looking for one that works. So, I had to buy a new powerhead due to my previous ryobi power head dying after 3 years. Was very happy with that one and literally have all the attachments minus the cultivator. First one I bought, ran off and on for several hours before it gave up the ghost and wouldn't start. Took it back, second one never started. Took it back, third one started and ran fine...as long as you had the throttle at full blast. Let off for even a second and it died every time. Took it back and bought the 4cycle, which I haven't tried yet so who knows. If I didn't have all the attachments already I'd buy a different brand. Ryobi, you need to work on your quality assurance out of the factory.
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start, plenty of power, good value I bought this 2-stroke power head to replace an older Husqvarna power head that lasted for years, but had finally gummed up from bad fuel. The price of the new Ryobi Power Head was so good, that I bought it rather than try to rebuild the old Husky. The Husky and the Ryobi both use the same quick attachments (weed eater, hedge trimmer, edger, etc). The Ryobi seems to have just a smidgen less power than the Husky (Husky has a couple more cc's of engine size), but the Ryobi still has plenty of power to spare with any of the attachments, so it doesn't really matter. The Ryobi is much lighter weight. Very easy to start. Very reasonable price/value! Great unit!
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Want tough? You just bought it!! I've used Ryobi products now for over a decade and I demand equipment which can take a pounding, yet perform like it came out of the box every time I need it; the 2 Cycle is one of the best. I've never had such a more productive multi-functional tool with the expand-it components, whether trimming, blowing leaves or pruning, you can rely on the 2 Cycle to power you through even the toughest jobs. This is my second one, no, the first one still runs fine which is now at my sisters house, but the new one has noticeable improvements from design, power, fuel efficiency and operation is apparent right out of the box. You will not be disappointed!
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RY251PH 25cc 2-Cycle Power Head RY251PH 25cc 2-Cycle Power Head I bought this unit a couple of weeks ago because my old Ryobi power head broke down. The unit was around 20 years old and the drive shaft wore out. The motor still starts and runs but for a few more bucks I could buy a whole new unit instead of fixing the old one. Over the years I have collected the 2 string trimmers, cultivator/tiller, edger, hedge trimmer, and blower. All in all Ryobi products have been in my garage for a long time including a whole set of 18 volt tools. I expect to get another 15-20 years out of my new power head just like the old one. Great products at reasonable prices.
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to set up and use This is not the first time I have bought this brand but it is the first time is quite some time. WOW has this product been upgraded in the interim. I am very pleased and impressed at how easy it was to start using it right out of the box! Started on the 2nd pull! I highly recommend this unit. It takes all my previously purchased attachments. NOTE: I am now convinced that my fist purchase many years ago of a Ryobi weed trimmer that died way too soon was the result of the ethanol added to gasoline. I recommend that only ethanol free gasoline be used or if not available anywhere use the additive products to neutralize the ethanol effect!
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement for Crapsman This Ryobi RY251PH powerhead is a replacement for a Limited Edition Craftsman 25cc powerhead. The craftsman was "limited" alright! Limited to a 2-year life span before the carb gave up, even while using canned, premixed fuel. Used the Ryobi for the first time today and it matched up great with the string trimmer and edger tools that I already had. The motor is plenty powerful to get the edger through some thick edge growth at the sidewalk while being much more quiet than the unit it is replacing. Glad I could find the stand alone Ryobi powerhead unit at Home Depot and I'm pleased with the value!
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Like a charm I bought the weed Ryobi Weed Trimmer with the 2 cycle powerhead in March or April of this year. After about 3 of intermittent use it started to get to start and I had to put it down for 20 mins or so before it would start. I got annoyed and went out and bought a 4cycle as backup about 1 month ago. Anyway I started to think something is wrong so I called Ryobi support and the guy told me it maybe because the carburettor is clogging up. Anyway I went out and bought a carburettor cleaner and added it to the gas. The difference is profound now as soon as I try it now starts after 3 pulls or so. Night and Day. I would recommend this product but as with any tool it has to be maintained properly to get it to run optimally. I learnt something.
Date published: 2020-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement Power Head My Troy-Bilt Power Head gave up the Ghost and I was shopping for a new trimmer...So, I decided to switch from a 4 cycle to a 2 cycle after talking with the Home Depot Contractor’s desk. The thing that made me switch was the ability to use my existing “attachments” from the Troy-Bilt on this new Ryobi..saving me many dollars on my investments. So, I quickly Registered the Ryobi and then tried out the Power Head with one of my attachments..worked like a dream!. I cannot wait to get out and get to cutting down all of the Knee High Grasses and Weeds on my property. Starting the Ryobi is a cinch IF you remember to hit the little Primer Button before you pull the cord!.
Date published: 2019-05-17
  • y_2020, m_9, d_23, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_75, tr_1062
  • loc_en_US, sid_205565953, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ryobioutdoortools

Support